Beyond EUPOP2012 

Make the most of your visit to London, avoid ‘conference fatigue’ and get chatting to other delegates by visiting one of the many museums and galleries that London has to offer.

Museums and Galleries

General admission to the main exhibition spaces is usually free and there is plenty to see, but there is often a charge for special exhibitions.

The Victoria and Albert Museum: http://www.vam.ac.uk/

Free special exhibition @ V&A: Britain Creates 2012: Fashion + Art Collusion http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/articles/b/britain-creates-2012-fashion-art-collusion/

Special exhibition (charge) @ V&A Ballgowns: British Glamour Since 1950 http://www.vam.ac.uk/content/exhibitions/ballgowns/

Tate Britain and Tate Modern: http://www.tate.org.uk/

Damien Hirst at Tate Modern (charge): http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/damien-hirst

Edvard Munch - the Modern Eye at Tate Modern (charge): http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-modern/exhibition/edvard-munch-modern-eye

National Portrait Gallery: http://www.npg.org.uk/

BP Portrait Award 2012 (free): http://www.npg.org.uk/index.php?id=9112

Special exhibition National Portrait Gallery (charge) The Queen Art & Image: http://www.npg.org.uk/whatson/the-queen/the-queen-art-image.php

National Gallery: http://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/

British Museum: http://www.britishmuseum.org/

Design Museum: http://designmuseum.org/

Natural History Museum: http://www.nhm.ac.uk/

Science Museum: http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/

Royal Academy: http://www.royalacademy.org.uk/

Museum of London: http://www.museumoflondon.org.uk/

Imperial War Museum: http://www.iwm.org.uk/


Prospective social event: Designing 007 - Fifty Years of Bond Style @ The Barbican

If anyone is interested in visiting the Fifty Years of Bond Style exhibition, please let us know via Twitter @EUPOP2012 and we’ll look at the possibility of a group booking (hopefully with a discounted admission too).

For details see: http://www.barbican.org.uk/bond/


Are you wanting to do some research whilst you are in London?

British Library: http://www.bl.uk/

British Film Institute (reading rooms -day passes available): http://www.bfi.org.uk/filmtvinfo/library/


Free live music

National Theatre Foyer

'Enjoy free concerts in the 'Djanogly Concert Pitch' Monday to Saturday evenings (pre-performance) and at lunch time on Saturdays and some Sundays. Feel free to hum along, tap your toes or just sit back and listen to a lively mix of music from around the world… from cool jazz to upbeat ethnic and much, much more.

Mondays to Fridays at 5.45pm, Saturdays at 1pm & 5.45pm and Sundays at 1pm’ http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/1821/music/foyer-music.html

Late Shift at the National Portrait Gallery every Thurs and Friday until 9pm: http://www.npg.org.uk/whatson/lateshift/late_shift_home.php#

Lunch time piano recital at St Martin in the Field (1pm Friday): http://enterprise.smitf.org/jserv/concerts/view.jsp?id=4188&command=concert

Live music bars: http://www.visitlondon.com/attractions/pubs_bars/live-music-bars


Recommend / suggest a place to visit

Let us know via Twitter @EUPOP2012 if there are any other exhibitions, museums, events, venues or galleries that you want to visit whilst you are in London at EUPOP2012 and we’ll see who else fancies coming along. We will also see if we can organise group discounts on special exhibitions wherever possible.


Stay in touch and plan your EUPOP2012 meet ups via Twitter

Remember - You can follow the EUPOP2012 conference on Twitter @EUPOP2012 

Please spread the word and use the hashtag #EUPOP2012 when retweeting and / or contributing to the conference back channel.

Short URL for this post: http://tmblr.co/Ze6rSwL235Cf